• Diploma of Physiotherapy 1972, Physiotherapy School of Victoria.
  • Bachelor of Applied Science (Physiotherapy) 1978, Lincoln Institute of Health Sciences.
  • Bachelor of Arts 1987, University of Melbourne (Major studies: Philosophy & Fine Arts).
  • Graduate Diploma in Neurosciences 1986, Lincoln Institute of Health Sciences.
  • Graduate Diploma in Physiotherapy (Neurology) 1987, Lincoln Institute of Health Sciences.
  • Doctor of Philosophy 1992, Anatomy Department, University of Melbourne.
  • Graduate Certificate in Clinical Trials Management 2000, University of Canberra
  • Graduate Diploma Epidemiology & Biostatistics 2005, University of Melbourne.


  • Current: Professorial Fellow, Department of Medicine (Royal Melbourne Hospital), The University of Melbourne; Honorary Professor, Department of rehabilitation Medicine, Royal Melbourne Hospital
  • 2012: Honorary Senior Principal Research Fellow, The Florey Institutes of Neurosciences and Mental Health
  • 2001-2012: Foundation Professor of Clinical Physiotherapy, The University if Melbourne and Austin Health
  • 2004-2011: Director, Rehabilitation Sciences Research Centre, University of Melbourne.
  • 2010-current: Honorary Professor, School of Rehabilitation and Health Sciences, and Queensland Brain Institute, University of Queensland; Honorary Professor, Faculty of health Sciences University of Sydney
  • 2009-current: Coordinator, Rehabilitation Medicine Sub-domain, Faculty of Medicine Dentistry and Health Sciences, The University of Melbourne


  • Suzanne Howsam Trust Fund Scholarship, 1985.
  • University of Melbourne Postgraduate Scholarship, 1988-1991.
  • Leslie Eric Paddle Postgraduate Scholarship, 1988-1989.
  • Sir Colin and Lady McKenzie Trust Postdoctoral Fellowship in Comparative Anatomy, 1993-1994.
  • Dame of Magistral Grace, Sovereign Military Order of Malta, 2001.
  • Distinguished Scholar, School of Physiotherapy, University of Sydney, 2002.
  • Australian Physiotherapy Association (Vic Branch) Achievement Award, 2004.
  • 2005 Paxinos-Watson Prize for the most significant neuroscience paper published by a full member of the Australian Neuroscience Society.
  • 2007 Sir Winston Churchill Memorial Fellowship
  • 2010 Distinguished Scientist Award, Austin Health
  • 2013 Community Award in the field of Education and Scholarship, Maltese Community Council of Victoria


  • Supervised 40 postgraduate students (incl. 16 PhD) and 5 Honours students to completion;
  • Mentored 4 postdoctoral fellows.
  • Current supervisor of 10 PhD students.


    • Over 125 peer-reviewed papers encompassing basic and clinical research, 3 editorials, 3 invited commentaries, 1 monograph and 10 invited book chapters, 3 patents.
    • Over 25 international invited, plenary or keynote lectures and 23 plenary presentations at national conferences.